Lust ≠ Love Series: “We’re Not Equal!”

The aim of this post is to get both definitions of “lust and love”… OK, maybe you could have gone to a dictionary or looked it up on the internet. But this time round as you’re reading this through, I think it will be a good idea to check ourselves, check and evaluate ourselves and our relationships, friendships and even marriages…

I should emphasis on the point that whether you display lust or love characteristics, both substances have a funny way of an impact in our lives. Make sure it is the “love” that has an impact on you and your life. Allow your love for other people to bring you rewards.Who Am I?

I go by the name of Lust. Sin is my middle name. Image is everything to me *brushes dirt of shoulders*, I also believe in ‘sex at first attractive sight.’ I crave and desire the things of the world, you know them fancy cars, the money, living luxuriously… not to talk of the bed action to satisfy my physical hormonal needs.

I generally find excitement in using people to get what I want, when I want. It’s about getting what I crave now-now-now, no time wasting, no body shaking. I am selfish, I am impure. I walk round with pride.

My kind of love is not free… What you talking about? There are conditions. Give me a “lil” something first *wink* and then I’ll fix you something later, maybe even love you. Actually, just to think of it, I am allergic to commitment *hold hands out*. Maybe I am even the cause of your marriage breakdown. Spouses living with each other not knowing they’re using one another.

I bring to you corrupted spirit, internal scars, scattered thoughts and excessive mental baggage. I am literally the cause of the black blood that flows through flesh.

What Does God Teach About LUST?

The Bible touches on various types of lust including sexual lust (Matthew 5:28) and monetary lust (1 Timothy 6:7-10).

  • Power Lust (Isaiah 14:13-14)
  • Approbation Lust – searching for praises for yourself. (Matthew 23:5)
  • Chemical Lust (Alcohol & Drugs) (Galatians 5:20; 1 Peter 4:3-4)
  • Eating Binge Lust (Gluttony) (1 Samuel 2:12-16)

The all have similar things in common…1) lusts tends to be addictive. 2) Once you advertise, even a slightest hint of that specific lust into your life – you’re bound to fall into the trap and commit multitudes of sin. Putting distance between yourself and God (Isaiah 59:2).

But your iniquities have separated you from your God; your sins have hidden His face from you, so that He will not hear

For example, to desire for money is a false standard, lusting over money can leave an individual into becoming greedy…which increases the temptation of stealing. Someone who has the desire of being rich also tends to have marital problems and other relationships blow up.

However, we thank God for the Word as it is possible to overcome lust before it destroys us. As Jesus offered us as way out. Romans 8:6:

For to be carnally minded is death, but to be spiritually minded is life and peace.”

To help us, I think it is important to consciously remind ourselves daily that we want to live according to God guideline, consistently asking ourselves “what would Jesus want me to do?”


Who Am I?

https://i0.wp.com/dailyps.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/love.jpg

My name is Love. Also known as Agape, where I am self-less and willing to sacrifice all…unconditional. I am what Jesus has for His Father, His followers and has for you.

I am also known as Storge. I am represented amongst the bond in families, between mothers and fathers as well as sisters and brothers – that sense of protection, that feeling of I am not ready for you to flee the nest yet. Or mum/dad…sit down it’s our turn to look after you.

Eros is my name; you know that physical sensual love between husband and wife…in a marriage having that deep connection of wanting to fight for one another no matter what. Love You Marry Me

I am also called Philia in relation to friendships.

I should be…*correction* I am always present no matter the culture, age and the physic outlook of another individual. I am present no matter the circumstance of what another individual has put you through.

I am patient, I am kind, I am understanding, I am not envious, boastful or rude.

I never end. I am eternal for I represent God.

What Does God Teach About LOVE?

The Bible is predominately based around love. To write what it teaches is quite lengthy It’s subheadings would need to be thought about. (In Jesus name I will do it too).

However, I will say this.

It is so beautiful how the Bible conveys love in different ways, particularly when looking at the Old Testament and the New Testament. The Old Testament shows how love is shown by serving God and obeying His commands (Joshua 22:5).

But be very careful to keep the commandment and the law that Moses the servant of the Lord gave you: to love the Lord your God, to walk in obedience to him, to keep his commands, to hold fast to him and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul.

On the other hand the New Testament displays a more defined version of what love is more specifically (Agape and Philia) (John 21:15).

When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love (agape) me more than these?”

“Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love (philia) you.”

Finally, Love is the greatest of the Spiritual Gifts (1 Corinthians 13:1-3);

If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

So…even faith is worthless without love.


https://gileadmag.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/02/5c739-image-717794.jpg

Other posts included in the series:


“Come here and listen, let me tell you what God has done for me” – Psalm 66:16 (NKJ)

7 thoughts on “Lust ≠ Love Series: “We’re Not Equal!”

Leave a comment